Oliver Wolcott Library
Search
Enter your search term below: 
About OWL

 

Events are updated regularly. Please check back! 



Wednesday, November 5th
7:00 - 8:00 p.m

OWL Cookbook Club
with OWL Staff

Are you a “crusty” reader?
Join Audra MacLaren, Adult Services Librarian, and Patricia Moore, Librarian, for the first meeting of the OWL Cookbook Club. At our inaugural meeting we will be discussing (and eating!) pie. 

Beginning a month before the discussion date we will have an assortment of pie cookbooks available for check out—select the one that most interests you.

Over the course of the month we encourage you to make recipes from your selected cookbook and come ready to chat about what worked, what didn’t, and what you cannot wait to make again.

With Thanksgiving right around the corner, find out who has the most foolproof pie crust and what exciting new pies are going to be served next to those tried and true favorites. Audra and Patricia will be bringing their favorite pies to the discussion and if you are feeling adventurous we encourage you to do the same—don’t be intimidated, we are all just amateur cooks who love books and food! Pie and tea will be served. Space is limited. Registration is required.
Click Here to Register



Wednesday, November 12th
7:00 - 8:00 p.m

Delta
with Author L. Todd Wood

For fans of David Baldacci and Vince Flynn, Todd Wood’s economic thrillers offer a unique perspective on today’s international conflicts as they rapidly unfold. He brings not only the foundation of military training and experience as a U.S. Air Force special operations helicopter pilot, but also a second career in finance with a focus on the Caribbean. 

His latest novel, Delta, is a roller coaster ride of history, suspense, and thrills. Rafe Savaryn is happy. He’s in Venice writing a novel on the Renaissance, enjoying being alone after a devastating divorce. He’s    trying to answer the question, “what makes societies fail” when a stunningly beautiful woman walks into his life and leads him on a horrifying journey back to the Dark Ages where the answer to his question is revealed.

A graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy, Wood has been an aeronautical engineer and an Air Force helicopter pilot. In the Air Force he flew for the 20th Special Operations Squadron which started Desert Storm. For the past eighteen years he has been an      international bond trader with expertise in Emerging Markets. He has conducted business in over forty countries. Wood has a keen understanding of politics and international finance. He is a contributor to Fox Business, The Moscow Times, NY Post, Money News, and others. Wood splits his time between New York and Moscow. His website is www.LToddWood.com.  A wine & cheese reception will follow the event. The author will provide books for sale & signing. Space is limited. Registration is required.
Click Here to Register
 



Sunday, December 7th
1:00 - 2:00 p.m

American Voices: An Hour with Robert Frost and Maxine Kumin
A Poetry Discussion led by Jim Kelleher

These two pastoral poets were rooted in rural New Hampshire but expressed political opinions in their lyric and narrative poems. Frost connected to ordinary people by using common speech; and Kumin too practiced a clear style. Kumin met Frost at Bread Loaf but was more influenced by W. H. Auden, and in turn Kumin mentored numerous younger poets, many women, including recent U.S. poet laureate Natasha Trethewey. 

We will read and review a small packet of their poems, available at the event, and in advance at the main desk of the library for those who register early. Attendees may want to first borrow and read these poets’ selected poems from the library, or review their own personal copies for pleasure. Audience participation is encouraged. 

I’m going out to clean the pasture spring;
I’ll only stop to rake the leaves away
(And wait to watch the water clear, I may):
I shan’t be gone long. - You come too.
- R. Frost

Jim Kelleher teaches literature and composition at Northwestern Connecticut Community College. He has published books with Antrim House, Quarry (2008) and Mick (2011). His work has appeared in Yankee, The Christian Science Monitor, The Country and Abroad, and other publications. Jim is a poet who works as a carpenter and public school teacher. Space is limited. Registration is required.
Click Here to Register

 



Tuesday, December 9th & Wednesday, December 10th
7:00 -8:30 p.m

Miracle on 34th Street: The Radio Play
with Peter Tavino & Friends

Click Here to Register for Dec. 9th
OR
Click Here to Register for Dec. 10th


Ring in the holidays with Peter Tavino and Friends as they perform a staged radio performance of Miracle on 34th Street. The 1947 film, directed by George Seaton, was based on a story by Valentine Davis and starred Maureen O’Hara, John Payne, Natalie Wood and Edmund Gwenn. Lux Radio Theatre presented the radio play in 1948, featuring the original cast. 

In the story, Doris Walker, a no-nonsense Macy’s executive, desperately searches for a new store Santa. She hires “Kris Kringle” who insists that he is the real Santa Claus and proves immensely popular. However, when a conflict with the store’s incompetent psychologist erupts, Kris finds himself held at Bellevue where, in despair, he deliberately fails a mental exam. All seems lost until Doris’ friend, Fred Gailey, reassures Kris of his worth and agrees to represent him in the fight to secure his release. To achieve that, Fred arranges a court hearing in which he argues that Kris is sane because he is in fact Santa Claus. 

This production stars Heather Twyeffort as Doris Walker, Emma Blanchard as Susan Walker, Ron Budny as Kris Kringle and Jim Stedronsky as Fred Gailey. Supporting cast includes: Father Tucker, The Honorable Charles Gill, Frank Vanoni, Bill Savoia, Pete Tavino, Jordan Andersen, and Jackie Zdanis. Justyn Zitnay will be performing the music with sound effects by Pete Tavino. Space is limited. Registration is required.

 

 

160 South Street, P.O. Box 187 Litchfield, Connecticut 06759 | Ph: 860-567-8030 | Fx: 860-567-4784

Contact Us | Directions | Hours